cover Originally released: 1970
Original label: Wayside/Smash WSS 33-001
  1. Tennessee Bird Walk(2:52)
  2. Big Black Bird (Spirit Of My Love) (2:43)
  3. Chapel Hill (2:39)
  4. The Dum Song (2:25)
  5. Bethlehem Steel (2:34)
  6. Poor Jody (2:36)
  7. Humphrey The Camel (3:04)
  8. Yellow Bellied Sapsucker (2:36)
  9. Changin' Times (3:23)
  10. The Clock Of St. James (2:07)
  11. You've Got Your Troubles (I've Got Mine) (2:40)
  12. With Pen In Hand (2:34)


Album information

Bald-headed birds and dirty underwear, spirits flying beyond time, home-sick steel workers, lost souls, a guest of honor crying at his own funeral, old folks, autumn days, a clock witnessing a murder, weeds, cobwebs, yellow bellied sap suckers, and other deep stuff we have gathered from first-hand observation of life and carefully taken down in brown crayon.

We've been right here in this dream all along, waiting for you. Now that you've found us, think of all the fun we can have before we wake up!

I guess what we mean to say is -- thanks for finding us.

All songs written by Jack Blanchard, pub. by Back Bay Music (BMI) except:
8: pub. by Starday Music (BMI); 11: written by Roger Greenaway & Roger Cook, pub. by Mills Music (ASCAP); and 12: written by Bobby Goldsboro, pub. by Detail Music (BMI).
Recorded at Woodland Studios, Nashville, April and June, 1969.
Produced by Little Richie Johnson.
Billy Sanford - el.guitar
Bobby Thompson - guitar/banjo
Lloyd Green, Weldon Myrick - steel
Henry Strzelecki - bass
Larry Londin - drums
Hargus Pig Robbins - piano
Buddy Spicher, Johnny Gimble - fiddle
Charlie McCoy - harmonica
The Nashville Edition - backup singers

News Biography Photos Discology Lyrics
Essays Buy the CD Sign the Guestbook View the Guestbook Home